Homemade falafel with a yoghurt parsley dressing

I have been a fan of falafel for a long time now, and I always eat it when I’m making my ‘I don’t want to spend too much time cooking-dish’, which is couscous with onion, carrot and raisins. Usually I buy them at my local north african shop (which is one of my top top top favorite stores in town) and I heat them in the oven, BUT, this time around I had more time to spend on my couscous and falafel dish, so I made my own falafel. And honestly, I was surprised  how easy it is to make! Try it for yourself, I’d say.

[klik hier voor de Nederlandse post]

HOMEMADE FALAFEL WITH A YOGHURT PARSLEY DRESSING (yields 2 dinner-sized salads)

Salad with homemade falafel and yoghurt dressing

THIS IS WHAT YOU NEED
For the falafel balls
– 150 gr broad beans (cooked)
– 150 gr chick peas (cooked)
– 1 egg
– 1 very small onion, chopped
– 15 gr fresh parsley
– 1 clove of garlic
– 1 tsp ground cumin
– 1 tsp ground coriander
– 1/2 tsp chili flakes or powder
– sea salt
– 50 gr flour
– 50 gr breadcrumbs
– vegetable oil

For the yoghurt dressing
– 200 mL yoghurt
– juice of 1/4 lemon
– 15 gr fresh parsley
– pinch of salt and pepper

For the salad
– Any type of lettuce, I used iceberg/cabbage lettuce
– 1 red onion

– food processor or blender
– skillet

THIS IS WHAT YOU HAVE TO DO
1. Process the broad beans and chick peas in the food processor or blender.

2. Add the egg, onion and 15 gr of fresh parsley and process again.

3. Add garlic, cumin, coriander, chili and sea salt to taste.

4. Form little balls, the size of a walnut, and cover them in flour. Set to firm in the fridge, for about 2 hours.

5. Meanwhile, make the yoghurt dressing by adding all ingredients together and mixing them well.

6. Cut and wash the lettuce if necessary. Cut the red onion in rings.

7. Take the falafel balls out of the fridge and cover them all in breadcrumbs.

8. Heat oil in a skillet and bake the falafel balls 5 pieces at a time, for about 3-4 minutes or until golden brown.

20140502-DSC_0169 yoghurt dressing with lemon and parsley

homemade falafel salad

2 thoughts on “Homemade falafel with a yoghurt parsley dressing

Leave a Reply

