Gluten free banana cake with raisins and cinnamon

I was very young when I first heard the words coeliac disease and gluten free diet. My dad was diagnosed with this disease when I was about ten years old. Ever since, we’ve been eating gluten free at home. Once I moved out to live on my own, I let go of the diet, but now that I’m more conscious about food and have to stick to a lactose free diet myself, I start to pay more attention to it once again. I’ve been baking gluten free chocolate cakes for birthday celebrations, and an apple-ginger cake is another favorite of my dad’s, but I wanted to try something new. And why not start with something I had at hand?

I chose to go with a mix of buckwheat flour and oat flour instead of the ‘usual’ gluten free flour mixture I use because of its many benefits: it has a good GI level (see my blog post about the glycemic index for more information), it’s high in protein, and it’s great for digestion as well as blood pressure.

[Klik hier voor het Nederlandse recept]

GLUTEN FREE BANANA CAKE WITH RAISINS AND CINNAMON

Slice of gluten free banana cake

THIS IS WHAT YOU NEED
– 125 gr buckwheat flour + 1 tbs extra for baking tray
– 125 gr (gluten free) oat flour (or oat flakes)
– 2 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 1/2 tsp sea salt
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– 2 ripe bananas
– 2 eggs
– 80 gr coconut oil (melted) + 1 tsp extra for baking tray
– 6 tbs plant based milk (soy, almond, rice)
– agave syrup (to taste, I used 30 gr to add some sweetness, 50 gr is really sweet)

– 2 medium sized bowls
– a whisk
– a baking tray (round, 18 cm diameter)
– food processor (optional)


THIS IS WHAT YOU HAVE TO DO
1. Sift and mix the dry ingredients together (the first six of the list) in a bowl. If you do not have oat flour, turn oat flakes into flour using the food processor.

Flour mixture and whisk

2. Whisk eggs, and add milk.

3. Add buckwheat and oat flour mixture (bit by bit) to the wet mixture and whisk until you have a smooth batter.

Whisk wet and dry ingredients together

4. Add melted coconut oil to the batter and mix well.

5. Mash bananas and add it to the batter together with the raisins and agave syrup. Mix well.

6. Grease baking tray and add 1 tbs buckwheat flour to prevent the cake from sticking to the baking tray’s sides.

7. Add batter to the baking tray.

8. Bake for 50  minutes in a preheated oven (180 degrees Celsius). After 50 minutes, see if the cake is done by inserting a skewer. If it comes out clean, your cake is ready. Keep the cake in the baking tray for 15 minutes before letting it cool on a rack.

Gluten free banana cake

Slice of gluten free banana cake

Close up of gluten free banana cake

Leave a Reply

